Day 23: 30 Days of Baking

7 days to go…I’ve been thinking, and it may be my cake-addled brain speaking, but in some way I’d like to carry on with something like this. Not necessarily cakes, but some sort of food. I need to think about it a bit more.

The fig, yoghurt and honey cake seemed to go down well at work. I tried a bit, and whilst there was nothing wrong with it, I didn’t think it was anything special.

Today it’s the return of chocolate. A chocolate tray bake with a chocolatey fudgy icing. It smells good, still warm just out of the oven. I hate to admit this, but all my previous chocolate recipes that required cocoa powder have had drinking chocolate powder instead :/ I can already tell the difference. Never again shall I commit this heinous
sin.

I’ve just cut this cake, and I have to say its another one I don’t really want to say goodbye to. It was hard to cut actually, so was worried about it being solid like a brick. Luckily a few crumbs fell off which I was able to taste. It was rich and dense and properly chocolatey. A successful chocolate recipe! I calmed down a bit today with the box lid, it’s more subtle but just as nice to look at I think.

20130423-080112.jpg
Something more traditional tomorrow, I feel…

Leave a Reply

