Day 10: 30 Days of Baking

I woke up this morning with my mouth feeling like it had been stripped of all moisture. I unstuck my tongue from the roof of my mouth, had a couple of glasses of water and started to feel normal again. I could put it down to 3 cocktails and 2 beers – I went with James’ rule of each cocktail should be a different spirit – or I could put it down to the fact I’m getting on a bit. I don’t usually drink beer, but I had a beer called Blue Moon which I had tried before.

ImageFirst time it was served in the bottle, the second time I got a glass with ice (possibly? I can’t remember) and a slice of orange. On the bottle it says it is best served with a slice of orange. I can’t say the orange enhanced it much. It made it too sweet. If this beer was in pubs I would drink beer and enjoy it.

Today’s cake is a gluten free almond and apple cake. It used 8 eggs. Yes 8!! No flour, but ground almonds. I got the recipe from the BBC Food website and I’ve just taken it out of the oven. It looks perfectly brown. I did have to cook it for 10 minutes longer than the recipe.

I’m bringing today’s cake to a work friend who has had some major surgery. She has been off work for a short while and recovering in the Easter holidays. I hope she enjoys it.

I have a justgiving page set up to receive donations for Mind, the charity I have chosen for this challenge. I should have linked to this more regularly I think, but here it is now www.justgiving.com/loorah1

Until Day 11, cake-lovers.

20130410-161847.jpg

Leave a Reply

