Day 6: 30 Days of Baking

Today the sun has been shining for a while. As the weather is so grim generally at the moment, sunshine has a heightened effect on me, it’s especially exciting! It’s very British to go on about the weather, isn’t it.

I am learning to make good use of what ingredients I have and to build a recipe around that. For example, I had some very ripe plums hanging about. I thought of a plum upside-down cake, and upon searching for recipes I discovered that they do exist. I didn’t have all the ingredients that they needed though so I followed a pineapple upside-down cake recipe and changed the sugar in the topping for dark brown sugar. As that was what I had! I have to say, I’ve learnt I’m a cook that likes to have a recipe as a guideline but I am happy going off on a tangent of my own.

It turned out well, but literally it didn’t turn out so well – a little bit stuck to the base of the tin. Boxed up and off to a lady who has been a great help to me. I have learnt so much from her. She was so pleased to receive it and has since text me to say it was “proper tasty!”

One more day til a whole week has passed. Enjoy your Saturday, see you tomorrow 🙂

20130406-141439.jpg

Leave a Reply

