Day 2: 30 Days of Baking

Today the sun is shining – what a difference that makes! Almost tropical enough for my coconut and lime cupcakes. Does anyone else dislike the word cupcake? They were always fairy cakes when I was younger. Same cake, different name. Anyway, I digress.

A coconut sponge with a lime flavoured icing, dipped in coconut was the pick for today. I overfilled the cake cases because I didn’t want to make more than one batch, so some of them erupted a bit.

Image 

Today’s recipient of cake were Steven Eagell Toyota in Luton. My car was booked in for it’s first service this morning. Getting a car again was one of the best things I’ve done in the last year. I didn’t realise how much I missed it until I got myself one again. I love my car and I’m lucky to have it. 

I walked in with my cake box, placed it on the counter and waited for the perfect moment to bring up my ploy (I went in with a ploy!). As the guy asked if I normally paid by card, I struck and told him that yes, I usually do pay by card but I was wondering if there was something they could do for me today. I explained myself, and what was in the box, and asked if there was any chance they could waive the fee for my service so I could donate it to my fundraising (£99) or if there was anything else they could do. He went to speak to his manager, and came back to tell me they couldn’t waive the fee 😦 but they could give me a 20% discount. That meant I would have £20 to donate 🙂 better than nothing! Thank you Toyota!

I’m off to give my £20 to my just giving page now! 

See you on day 3 🙂

Leave a Reply

