Sweet treats

Hello Sunday. It’s a grey, wet and miserable sunday with a high chance of snow. As I type this on the bed, our cat, Thundercat, has squeezed her way into my boyfriend’s clean folded shirt and has settled down to sleep.

Image

She’s in there somewhere.

This week it was my Uncle’s 50th birthday. A few weeks ago we were joking about what his birthday celebrations might be like, comparing him to the Queen on her Jubilee. Except his version included the river Lea, shopping trollies and outfits made of bin liners.

Money is a bit tight (as it is for everyone, blah) so I thought I’d make him a present. Something to eat! I do like to feed people. I always have. However, I’m not a ‘feeder’, those who substitute double cream for milk in their partner’s coffee and take great delight at watching them gradually expand until they can no longer reach for their diabetes medication.

This recipe was passed on by word of mouth by one of my friends. Just before Christmas, so I had the perfect home made sweet gift to dish out to family and friends. They are so simple and incredibly quick. Three ingredients:

  • Pretzels
  • Rolos (or other chocolate covered caramel sweets)
  • Nuts of your choice – I like pecans or walnuts

Line a baking tray with foil. Lay your pretzels, one by one, onto the foil leaving a little space between each. Place a rolo onto each pretzel. Place into a preheated oven (I used gas mark 3) for around 3 – 4 minutes. Remove from oven and whilst still soft, place a single nut on top of each gooey chocolate caramel covered pretzel and push down lightly.

You can put them in the freezer for a short time once they’ve cooled a little to solidify them properly. And that’s that! The result is a salty, sweet, caramelly chocolate bite, and we all know salted caramel is trendy at the moment.

Image

There’s the little beauties up there…

FYI, the cat is still in the shirt.

Bye for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

